No there isn't a typo up there, I intentionally made it DIT because this is about "Do It Todero" which is cheesy, I'll give you that, but so true. My husband and I both love a good project, have you seen his costumes? No?  Here's Boba Fett:
The man is good, I can't wait to have kids because they will have the best costumes on the block. He can make pretty much anything that I've ever asked him to make. And I've asked a lot. Like for our wedding I wanted to DIY some aspects and the main one was a marquee backdrop for our ceremony and also for behind the head table at our reception. I gave him the idea, had the letters printed out at FedEx in the size and wanted and cut them out and he took the reigns on the rest of it. 
I loved it as the backdrop for our ceremony at the Farmington Civic Theater (which, by the way,  was just awarded Best in Detroit) and also loved that it was movable to our reception and now it lives in our living room on the wall behind our couch. We also made a lot of other elements for the ceremony and reception:
Picture
Vince's idea to incorporate concession candy into the theme and put directions to the reception on the backs. (Thanks Michelle!)
Picture
Double DIY here: my good friends Kelly & Hilary helped with the flowers for the ladies and my sister sewed my sash onto my gown on the morning of the wedding.
Picture
I didn't want plain white tables, but also couldn't afford rental runners, so my friends Kelly & Lia helped me make these grey beauties. Vince spray painted all of the table number frames and my Aunt Theresa set all of this up for us on our day.
Picture
I created all of the guys' boutonnieres, I used silk here so they could be made way in advance.
Picture
Our guest book aka Wedding Certificate was part of the ceremony and DIT'd by another branch of the Todero clan, Trevor & Michelle Todero. (And that's my lovely mother signing it!)
Picture
I found a rusted old mailbox at Salvation Army and we spruced it up!
If you didn't notice the common theme through the caption I'll point it out for you: We did all of this, but with lots and lots of help. We are blessed by tons of crafty friends and family who were enthusiastic helpers in our pursuits. 

What I want you to know is that DIY is possible, if you plan it out. What you don't see here are DIY flower girl dresses and that's because I was still sewing them two days before our wedding and on an early morning run to Walmart I found a grey and black dress for 19 bucks and bought two of them and my vision of grey tutu skirts over black leotards were thrown into a pile of failed attempts.

You have to know what you are capable of, and tutu skirts weren't going to be my gold star of the wedding. I also want you to know that I am very willing to help you figure out how to make what you see on Pinterest, or to tell you if buying it may actually be the cheaper, easier method. And Vince is available to help me with your projects too if you want something large and awesome like that marquee sign!

What do you want to DIT for your wedding? Any DIY disaster stories to share? Thanks again to all of my friends and family for their patience and help with our wedding projects!!



Leave a Reply.